First mentioned in the Domesday Survey of 1086, this most picturesque of watermills was largely re-built circa 1650. It is situated on the Dorset Stour in the heart of Hardy’s Wessex and within sight of one of his homes. The Mill is maintained in full working order and is powered, by a one hundred-year-old water turbine. Personal guided tours at no extra cost are a much praised feature. The full range of machinery is always “ticking over” when the mill is open with special milling weekends on the 2nd weekend in May and 2nd weekend in September.